How do you become a certified firefighter in Florida?

How do I get my firefighter certification in Florida?

To be a career Firefighter in the State of Florida, an individual must submit an Application for Certification as a Firefighter II, and successfully complete the Firefighter Minimum Standards Course, or have received an equivalent amount of training in another state (or country), and pass the state written and …

Is it hard to become a firefighter in Florida?

It is usually very difficult to become a firefighter. There is usually a lot of competition for each vacant position. Although there are usually only a few basic requirements to apply for a firefighter job, those that are hired frequently have a lot more training, education, and experience than required.

How much does firefighter school cost in Florida?

Firefighter Program Estimated Expenses

Tuition – Florida State Resident
Firefighter I (191 Clock Hours) $488.96
Firefighter 2 $490.00
One Time Costs
Application Fee for EFSC $30.00

How long is firefighter training in Florida?

Firefighters need to complete 398 hours of Firefighter Minimum Standards Course that is divided into two parts – Firefighter I and Firefighter II course. Aspirants who are seeking a career in firefighting must pass a written and practical exam. If you fail to pass the exam, you can retake it after 6 months.

IMPORTANT:  Your question: Do firefighters or cops die more?

How long is the Florida Fire Academy?

Fire Academy schedule and length

The Fire Academy consists of 492 hours of training and is offered as a full-time and part-time schedule.

What can stop you from being a firefighter?

So, what disqualifies you from being a firefighter?

  • Lack of physical fitness.
  • Drug use.
  • Extensive criminal history.
  • Extensive driving expenses.
  • Dishonorable discharge from the military.

What state is it easiest to become a firefighter?

5 best states for career firefighters

  • Hawaii. Number of registered fire departments: 11. Percentage of career departments: 90.9 percent.
  • Florida. Number of registered fire departments: 477. …
  • Massachusetts. Number of registered fire departments: 362. …
  • Arizona. Number of registered fire departments: 249. …
  • California.

How do I get Firefighter 2 certified in Florida?

Firefighting: Firefighter II

This Statute requires that a student must be 18 years of age or older; have a high school diploma or equivalent; no criminal record; pass a physical examination; be a certified First Responder or higher (EMT/B or EMT/P) complete the fire academy; and pass the State Certification Exam.

What is the best fire academy in Florida?

Best Fire Science/Fire-Fighting colleges in Florida for 2021

  • University of Florida. Gainesville, FL. Image by @mostvigorousspring. …
  • St Petersburg College. Clearwater, FL. St Petersburg College offers 1 Fire Science/Fire-Fighting degree programs. …
  • Miami Dade College. Miami, FL. …
  • Valencia College. Orlando, FL.

How do I become a firefighter EMT in Florida?

Admission Requirements

  1. Must be at least 18 years of age.
  2. Possess a high school diploma or a GED.
  3. Must successfully complete a Florida EMT or Paramedic program.
  4. Have no conviction of felonies or significant misdemeanors.
  5. Cannot have been dishonorably discharged from military service.
  6. Be of good moral character.
IMPORTANT:  Frequent question: How many fireman's outfits do tankers carry?