What are the two different types of fire?

Class A – fires involving solid materials such as wood, paper or textiles. Class B – fires involving flammable liquids such as petrol, diesel or oils. Class C – fires involving gases.

What are the different types of fires?

Classes of fire

  • Class A. A class A fire is burning flammable solids as fuel. …
  • Class B. Class B fires are burning flammable liquids. …
  • Class C. Class C fires burn flammable gases. …
  • Class D. Class D fires are burning flammable metals. …
  • Electrical. Any fire involving electrical equipment is classed as an electrical fire. …
  • Class F.

What are the 3 most common types of fires?

The 4 most common types of fire

  1. Kitchen fires. The most common type of fire in the U.S. is the kitchen fire. …
  2. Electrical fires. …
  3. Heater fires. …
  4. Smoking-related fires.

How many main types of fire are there?

Fire is divided into five classes (A, B, C, D, and K) that are primarily based on the fuel that is burning. This classification system helps to assess hazards and determine the most effective type of extinguishing agent.

IMPORTANT:  What is the best fuel to use in a fire pit?

What is a Class 2 fire?

A Class B or Class 2 fire rating is the next best rating on the list. The flame spread rating of Class B would fall between 26 and 75. This rating is typical for slower-burning whole wood materials. A whole wood material would be wood planks that are in the same form as they were when they were cut from the tree.

What are Type B fires?

Class B fires involve flammable and combustible liquids such as gasoline, alcohol, oil-based paints, lacquers. Therefore, extinguishers with a B rating are designed to extinguish fires involving flammable and combustible liquids.

What are the fire extinguisher types?

There are four classes of fire extinguishers – A, B, C and D – and each class can put out a different type of fire.

  • Class A extinguishers will put out fires in ordinary combustibles such as wood and paper.
  • Class B extinguishers are for use on flammable liquids like grease, gasoline and oil.

What are four classes of fire?

​CLASS A – Ordinary combustibles such as wood, cloth, and paper. CLASS B – Flammable liquids such as gasoline, oil, and oil-based paint. CLASS C – Energized electrical equipment, including wiring, fuse boxes, circuit breakers, machinery and appliances. CLASS D – Combustible metals such as magnesium or sodium.

What is a Type K fire?

What Are Class K Fires? A Class K fire is fueled by flammable cooking liquids, such as cooking oil, and animal or vegetable-based greases. These liquids, when brought up to high temperatures, become volatile and can easily ignite. Due to their high flammability, they also spread rapidly.

What is AK type fire extinguisher?

A Class K fire extinguisher is used on fires involving cooking media (fats, grease, and oils) in commercial cooking sites such as restaurants. These fire extinguishers work on the principle of saponification. … These extinguishers are identified by the letter K.

IMPORTANT:  Frequent question: Do firemen wear fireproof clothes?

What is the most common class of fire?

Class A fires are the most common of the 5 different classes of fires. They occur when common combustible materials like wood, paper, fabric, trash, and light plastics catch fire.

What type of fire is Class A?

Class A: Ordinary solid combustibles such as paper, wood, cloth and some plastics. Class B: Flammable liquids such as alcohol, ether, oil, gasoline and grease, which are best extinguished by smothering.

What are stages of fire?

By most standards including the International Fire Service Training Association (IFSTA) there are 4 stages of a fire. These stages are incipient, growth, fully developed, and decay.

What is a Class 1 gas fire?

Class 1 flues have a diameter of 7″ or more, and are most often found in houses built before 1930 with brick chimneys. Fireplaces Are Us have a wide selection of gas fires for Class 1 chimneys in both traditional and contemporary styles.

What is a Class 1 or 2 flue?

They’re not equipped to deal with solid fuel fires. However, which specific fires you’re allowed generally comes down to the size of the flue. Essentially, if your flue diameter is 7 inches, you’ll need a class 1 fire. For 5 inch flues, you’ll need a class 2 fire.