How do I become a firefighter in Kansas City?

How long does it take to become a firefighter in Kansas?

How long does it take to become a firefighter in Kansas? It depends on the location and how much is required upon application. EMT certification and other qualifications can take three months to obtain, or more than four years for those pursuing it as part of an academic program.

How long does it take to become a firefighter in Missouri?

This training program normally takes about 16 weeks (3-4 months). Once done with training, you will need to qualify the Missouri firefighter exam to be employed by the State Fire Department. Hiring is subject to the availability of positions.

How do I become a firefighter in Kansas?

How to Become A Firefighter In Kansas

  1. 18 years of age.
  2. High school diploma or GED.
  3. US citizen.
  4. Valid driver’s license.
  5. Pass a background check.
  6. Pass a physical agility test.

What are the requirements to be a firefighter in Missouri?

How to Become a Firefighter in Missouri

  • Minimum age of 18, but be aware of upper age restrictions.
  • Must have a valid state driver’s license and residency.
  • Physically and mentally fit.
  • High school diploma or GED.
  • No regulation for Firefighter 1 or EMT training at entry level.
IMPORTANT:  What is the maximum age to become a firefighter in Florida?

Do you need university to be a firefighter in Kansas?

In Kansas, you do not need to have degrees to become a firefighter, but you do need to make sure you are able to meet all of the minimum requirements of the job. …

Can a felon be a firefighter in Kansas?

Applicants must either be citizens of the United States of America or legal resident aliens. Applicants must not have had a felony conviction directly related to the position of firefighter (e.g., arson, burglary, larceny, murder).

How much do firefighters make?

How much do firefighters get paid? According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the average firefighter makes about $50,850 annually or $24.45 per hour.

How do I become a volunteer firefighter in Kansas?

Requirements

  1. Interview with full-time Derby Fire staff. …
  2. A Fit for Duty form filled out and signed by a physician.
  3. Attend a minimum of 30+ hours of basic firefighter training. …
  4. Obtain a State of Kansas Firefighter I Certificate (FFI) within one year and Emergency Medical Responder (EMR) within two years.

How do I become a fire inspector in Kansas?

You must have completed the U.S. Fire Administration Fire Investigation: Essential R0206 course or have attended the reciprocity course offered in Kansas through the Kansas Chapter of the International Association of Fire Investigators (KS-IAAI) within the last 5 years according to K.A.R. 22-19-2.